The Season of Red, Green and Tartan

I have seen a lot of ‘#DIYDecember’ which has been really inspiring and got me excited about different ways to keep myself busy in my free time.

This week I thought I would try the classic salt-dough decorations. It was such a quick and easy project which really got me into a happy mood. Just getting my hands into the sticky dough, rolling and kneading felt so therapeutic, I recommend it to everyone.

There are so many recipes to follow online and suggestions for cooking or microwaving. I thought I would just improvise and see how it goes.

1 cup of table salt
2 cups of flour
1 cup of water

I kept adding water and flour until I got a nice tough consistency which I then rolled out and used cookie cutters to create shapes!
IMG_6468.JPG
They almost look good enough to eat!

I made a lot of trees because I like Christmas trees – of course. After spending an hour painting them, I thread a nice tartan ribbon through (the choice was hard to make thank you HobbyCraft). So now I have a cute DIY Christmas Tree alternative to Bunting.
IMG_6483.JPG

I hope some of my craft posts might inspire others to make some projects and get in touch with their crafty sides this  December.

 

2 thoughts on “The Season of Red, Green and Tartan

Leave a Reply

