What to do when life gives you lemons

I get so excited about learning or coming to a realisation how things usually work together for a bigger picture. I have the same excitement for key ingrediants like eggs. There is so much you could do with an egg!

My boyfriends lovely Grandma makes an amazing homemade concentrated lemon juice which is sweet and zingy on your taste buds and always leaves you wanting more.

I never would ask for her recipe or method as I know nobody can match the standard of taste and it is a nice little luxury whenever we visit to drink it! Instead I thought I would try adding a wedge of lemon into my water to soak up the health benefits but this has already opened my eyes to a bigger list of mini projects involving lemons.

Firstly, adding slices into really cold water is a great way to help increase your fluid intakes. A little bit of flavour can be enough to guzzle a glass down, and it is prettier to look at.

image

This also made me think of squeezing lemon pulp into ice cubes for the summer. These would go lovely in water, squash, lemonade or coke.

Lemons are great for sqeezing over salads, chicken dinners and can add a lovely taste to a stir fry. They are of course tasty dressing for that up and coming pancake day! My most revent edible bake using lemons was for a tasty blueberry and lemon muffin loaf.

image

Watching How Clean is Your House? And Obsessive Compulsive Cleaners has taught me how useful a lemon is for cleaning taps, glass and skirting boards. They also leave a fresh smell around the home.

Lemons also have great health benefits. They cut away fat in the body but are highly acidic so aren’t so friendly on the teeth. I advise drinking lemon juice through a straw and being mindful of how much lemon cake you nibble on! They also have been known to helo reduce blackheads when mixed with sugar and honey and they are a cheap eco friendly way to lighten your hair in the sunshine.

image

Lemons are as little as 30p each or even less for bulk buy so there are no excuses not to add these clever fruits into your lifestyle!

Leave a Reply

